Tanner Newcomb

Bachelor of Science

2014

 

Mynewcomb academic journey at RIT has been a whirlwind. I started as a psychology major, and transferred into the University Studies Program after my first quarter. By the end of my first year, I moved into biotechnology, where I stayed for two years. By the end of my junior year, I realized that my passion was in working with students, so higher education became my career pathway. However, RIT doesn’t offer education courses in a devoted major. An individualized degree was a perfect fit for me; I was able to design a program that would best prepare me for graduate work in the fields of higher education and student affairs. And, for once, I feel happy and confident that I made the right choice of study. This was the only program that allowed me to find classes I felt were relevant to achieve my dreams, while also providing me with direction and focus to make sure I was on track.

I have gained and continue to gain extensive experience in my field through my work in the New Student Orientation and Undergraduate Admissions offices. They allow me to connect uniquely and meaningfully with new and prospective students in a number of ways. To me, this is the best experience RIT can offer me, and I love every minute of it.

The SOIS staff is incredible. My advisors have seen me through hardship and success, and are more than happy to guide me every step of the way through my academic career. Having become a custom-degree student late in the game (end of my junior year), I was nervous about graduating on time. Although I was at RIT an extra year, I didn’t mind at all. I was able to find the path that suits me best, and I am grateful to have determined what I want to do. SOIS has been a blessing to me, and I’ve never felt more at home.

 

Leave a Reply

