Dan Worthy

Master of Science

2011

worthy

I chose the Professional Studies program because it allowed me to select a combination of skills that I knew I would need to be successful. I loved the fact that I could use the best of several disciplines to advance my career. This type of program gives students a distinct advantage in the workplace because they are able to connect the dots whereas others may be restricted to their area of expertise.

During my co-op experiences, I worked with the Veteran Center, American Legion, Department of Veterans Affairs, the Wounded Warrior Project, Disabled American Veterans, and the Veterans Court. I was able to use my multidisciplinary experiences from the classroom and enhance the services they provide. I have also had the opportunity to consult with other academic institutes to help create programs for veterans, paving the way for future veterans centers at area colleges.

Throughout my time at RIT I was able to develop a company of my own which I named Capstone HEROES. Capstone HEROES offers transitional services to veterans in areas of education, employment, finance, housing, etc. RIT recognized my company as a co-op experience as I have mentored under, partnered with, and worked alongside influential people and organizations in the Rochester community.

Capstone HEROES is now operating in New Jersey on a 10,000 square foot facility. I was able to receive funding from two counties in New Jersey to get up and running in our new location.

 

Leave a Reply

